DENTON — The Caroline County Branch of NAACP held its 2019 Freedom Fund Awards Luncheon on Saturday, Nov. 16 at the Caroline County 4-H Park in Denton, Maryland. The branch was honored to have as the keynote speaker Gerald G. Stansbury, President of the Maryland State Conference, NAACP, who is completing his final year as state president, having served since 2007. Stansbury gave a stirring and insightful message grounded in the Martin Luther King sermon, “Why Jesus Called a Man a Fool,” based on the parable recorded in the book of Luke. Stansbury challenged all to be mindful of the demarcation between the “things of life and the ends of life”—do not let the means by which we live outdistance the ends for which we live and do not fail to realize our dependence on others.

Presentations to award honorees were made by Branch President Berl Lovelace and Branch Executive Committee Member Dr. Willie G. Woods. The Business Achievement Award was presented to the Briggs Bros. Plumbing Inc., owners John and Kenneth Briggs. The Faith-Based Organization Award was presented to the Denton Church of Free Seventh-day Adventists, Elder Terrance D. Nichols, pastor.

The Lifetime Achievement Award was presented by Terenda Thomas to Barbara F. Prattis, posthumously, with her son, Kordell, accepting the honor in her memory.

Youth assistants during the event, all members of the Caroline County Youth Council of the Maryland State Conference of Youth and College Division, received certificates of recognition, namely: Jahzara Foster, Chyna Slaughter, Tahlyiah Thomas, Tre’Vaughn Watson, and Jeremiah Ricketts.

To the surprise of the speaker, the President’s Award was presented to State President Gerald Stansbury by Caroline County Branch President Berl Lovelace, in collaboration with Former State President and Former Talbot County Branch President Walter Black, Current Talbot County President Richard Potter, Dorchester County Branch President James Pinkett, Wicomico County Branch President Mary Ashanti, Queen Anne’s County Branch President L. C. Lawrence, Former State Vice President and Former Montgomery County President Anita Neal Powell, and Former Talbot County Branch President Otis Sampson.

Maryland State Senator Addie Eckhardt presented each honoree with a citation from the State of Maryland General Assembly in recognition of their achievements.

Toast master for the program was Rev. Kevin Brummell of Ross’s Chapel/Preston Circuit. Music was provided by Rev. and Mrs. Kevin and Cynthia Brummell, with accompanist Freddie Brummell. Other program participants included Rev. Clark Green, pastor at Bell’s Chapel AME Church, and Alfreda Dennis-Bowyer (James Coursey, accompanist), and Pat Guida. Members of the Branch program planning committee were Norma Robinson, Darlene Lovelace, Ezola Webb, Doretha Coursey, and Patrice Flamer.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.