STEVENSVILLE — The Blue Heron Ladies Golf League held its annual banquet at Kentmorr Restaurant in Stevensville on Oct. 7. For the second year in a row, Pat Barry and Nancy Kinney, banquet co-chairs, hosted the luncheon attended by 68 players as well as the Monday morning Blue Heron golf course staff. The program included door prizes, a putting contest, two 50/50 raffle winners and a “Guess the Number of Tees” contest as well as numerous golf awards.

Jane Good of Annapolis, MD received the prestigious “Most Improved Player of the Year” award. A number of ladies received awards for Putt Pot Winners, Chip-Ins and Weekly Contests and 31 ladies won prizes for making one (19 players), two (seven players), three (one player), five (two players), an impressive eight (one player) birdies and one really impressive Hole-in-One (Gerry Roberts) during the season.

President Jeanne Freiberg presented the coveted 2019 Club Championship plaque and monetary award to Jeanne Gordinier of Stevensville.

The following players were also awarded prizes for the Championship Tournament: “A” Flight – 1st Place Gross: Debbie Gill, 2nd Place Gross: Linda Crawford; 1st Place Net: Andrea Akers, 2nd Place Net: Pinky Slingluff; “B” Flight – 1st Place Gross: Rosalie Lewis, 2nd Place Gross: Linda Coveleskie; 1st Place Net: Sally Martinich, 2nd Place Net: Phyllis Sherbert; “C” Flight – 1st Place Gross: Jane Moggio, 2nd Place Gross: Jackie Robertson; 1st Place Net: Shirley Hatch, 2nd Place Net: Barbara Bruso; “D” Flight – 1st Place Gross: Dot Gibson, 2nd Place Gross: Kathy Bernard; 1st Place Net: Irene Fares, 2nd Place Net: Jean Clarke.

Prizes were also awarded in each flight for 1st and 2nd Ringer Low Gross and Low Net: “A” Flight – 1st and 2nd Low Gross: Debbie Gill, Jane Good, 1st and 2nd Low Net: Linda Crawford, Phyllis Emmett; “B” Flight – 1st Low Gross (tie): Sheila Cones, Barbara Letke, 2nd place Low Gross (tie): Linda Coveleskie, Jane Rajotte; 1st Low Net: Jane LeFever, 2nd Low Net (tie): Pat Barry, Millie Hemstetter; “C” Flight – 1st and 2nd Low Gross: Jackie Robertson, Jean Sadler, 1st and 2nd Low Net: Shirley Hatch, Nancy Kinney; “D” Flight – 1st and 2nd Low Gross: Susan Schmidt, Priscilla Ryan, 1st Low Net: Kelly Sloskey, 2nd Low Net (tie): Kathy Bernard, Jean Clarke.

Officers for the 2020 golf season are President Andrea Akers, Vice President Jane West, Secretary Anne Brunson and Treasurer Pat Barry.

This year the league reached its maximum number of players consisting of 90 women from both western and Eastern Shore communities. The nine-hole league begins each year on the first Monday morning of April and continues every Monday through September. The awards banquet is traditionally held on the first Monday of October.

Returning member registration runs from February 1 through March 1 and is then opened to new players until all spaces are filled. Once the league reaches its maximum of 90 players, a wait list is maintained.

For more information regarding qualifications and registration, call the Membership Chair at 410-827-9397.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.