QUEENSTOWN — During the Maryland Commodity Classic Thursday, July 23, the Dr. James R. Miller Award was presented to Jason Scott of Easton.

The James R. Miller Award is given to an individual that has provided outstanding service to the Maryland grain industry. Since 1988, this award has been presented 33 times to a number of farmers, elected officials, as well as, research and agency representatives have been recognized for their accomplishments and commitment.

This year, Maryland Grain Producers recognized one of their own for his hard work and dedication to their board and the U.S. Wheat Associates.

Most notably, Jason Scott has served as the first and only chairman of the U.S. Wheat Associates from Maryland. He earned a degree from the University of Maryland in Agriculture. He is a founding member of the Dorchester County Young Farmers organization. Representing U.S Wheat, Scott has traveled to 22 different countries to establish and continue trade relations.

He serves as manager of Walnut Hill Farm, the family-operated farm in Talbot County. He runs the farm with his parents, Doug and Patty Scott, and a cousin. They till around 1,500 acres, growing corn, soybeans, wheat, malt barley and sweet corn.

Scott’s best advice to local farmers, “Get involved in your community, especially through agricultural organizations.”

Get involved and give your time, he said.

Among the others who have received this award are Frank Perdue and Congressman Steny Hoyer.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.