CHESTERTOWN — The recently formed nonprofit Kent Attainable Housing has announced additions to its board of directors.

According to a news release, the organization is working to create home ownership opportunities for local families in need of safe, decent and affordable housing by building affordable homes.

Construction on the first home, on College Avenue in Chestertown, is scheduled to begin in December. After the first home is built, there are plans for more Kent Attainable houses, and selected applicants in the first round will be given priority for future homes.

The new members to the board are Dora Best of Chestertown, Carolyn G. Brooks of Worton, Ronne Edelman of Galena and Nivek Johnson of Chestertown.

Best has more than 30 years of experience in social service work in Kent and Queen Anne’s counties, including work in child advocacy, emergency sheltering and behavioral health. She has a master’s degree in human service.

Brooks has a master’s degree in special education. She has more than 40 years of experience in Maryland state government providing employment services to Maryland residents. Currently she works part time at the A.F. Whitsitt Center and is active in numerous local nonprofit social services organizations.

Edelman is a retired attorney from the United States Justice Department. She is active in community activities, including Chestertown RiverArts, Mid-Shore District AARP Tax Foundation, the League of Women Voters of Kent County, Chestertown Havurah, Kent County Library Foundation and the Washington College-Academy for Lifelong Learning council.

Johnson was born in Chestertown and graduated from Salisbury University with a degree in communication of arts in 2017. He currently serves as the youngest elected member of the Kent County Public Schools Board of Education.

In addition, he serves as a board director for Sumner Hall; a member for the Episcopal Diocese of Easton Agape Ministries Committee; and a board director for the Samaritan Group.

They join board members Lani Seikaly, president; Ed Minch, vice president and treasurer; Jonathan Chace, secretary; as well as Pam Ortiz, David Biehler, and Fredy Granillo.

For more information or to learn about volunteer opportunities, go to the Kent Attainable Housing website at

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.