You are the owner of this article.

8 field hockey players from Kent qualify for national academic squad

  • 0
8 field hockey players from Kent qualify for national academic squad

Junior defender Annie Page Brocker, with ball, is one of two Kent County players to be recognized as a Scholar of Distinction by the National Field Hockey Coaches Association. She also was placed on the elite first team in all-star voting by the North Bayside Conference coaches.

WORTON — Eight members of Kent County’s region championship field hockey team have qualified for the High School National Academic Squad after achieving a minimum cumulative unweighted grade point average of 3.50 on a 4.0 scale for the first quarter of the 2019-20 school year.

Only juniors and seniors are eligible for the National Field Hockey Coaches Association program.

The 2019 honorees were announced in a news release from the NFHCA.

Susan Wright-Taylor is Kent County’s coach.

The Trojans’ scholar-athletes are Annie Page Brocker, Sella Conner, Kate Ervin, Mallory Helfenbein, Ally Hickman, Mira Hitzges, Catherine Milligan and Caroline Milligan.

Seniors Helfenbein, Hickman, Hitzges and Catherine Milligan repeat.

Two of Kent County’s players — defender Brocker (3.93) and midfielder Helfenbein (4.0) — were recognized as Scholars of Distinction after achieving a minimum cumulative unweighted GPA of 3.9 out of a possible 4.0.

Brocker was the team MVP for Kent, which captured its first region title since 2013. She also distinguished herself as a first-team performer on the All-North Bayside team that is selected by area coaches.

Ervin (midfielder) and sophomore Kendell Ford (forward) also landed on the coaches’ elite first team. Ford led the Trojans with 13 goals and seven assists. Ervin contributed nine goals and six assists.

Also in the coaches’ poll, seniors Hickman (defender), Catherine Milligan (forward) and Tanae Johnson (forward) and freshman Delaney Jewell (midfielder) landed on the second team. Juniors Caroline Milligan (goalie) and Katie Wade (defender), freshman Sarah Moxley (midfielder) and Helfenbein (midfielder) received honorable mention.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Latest Special Section

We're always interested in hearing about news in our community. Let us know what's going on!