Consolidation transition

Title I Supervisor Lloyd Taylor and Millington Elementary School Principal Kris Hemstetter discuss Monday the district’s efforts to consolidate its five elementary schools to three.

ROCK HALL — The Kent County Board of Education learned Monday night about the district’s transition efforts in consolidating its five elementary schools down to three and took a moment to thank a parent group for its support during the process.

Faced with a continuing trend of declining student enrollment district-wide and the resulting financial losses, board members voted earlier this year to close Millington and Worton elementary schools. At the start of the 2017-18 academic year, the remaining schools will be H.H. Garnet Elementary School in Chestertown, Galena Elementary School and Rock Hall Elementary School.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.